112, India’s new all-purpose emergency number

Delhi : On Wednesday, Delhi became the fifth Union Territory after Puducherry, Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, and the Andaman a


nd Nicobar Islands to implement the Emergency Response Support System (ERSS) since it was inaugurated in February by then home minister Rajnath Singh.

Delhi Police DCP (Operations and Communications) S K Singh said Wednesday, “It’s difficult to remember so many emergency numbers, especially if you are travelling from one state/UT to another. This w

ill simplify things for the users.”

In November 2018, Himachal Pradesh became the first state to roll out the ERSS, under which there is a single emergency response number across the country