BSF Women won Gold in National Rafting Maratho

ITBP bagged silver and bronze

Ultimate Survival team also took lead from professional teams

Hamirpur, (QNN)

Border Security Force (BSF) women team won gold medal in the National Rafting Marathon being held at Nadaun today. The rafting championship was organised by the Indian Rafting Foundation under the guidance of Word Rafting Federation (WRF). Rakesh Pathania minister for sports and youth affairs and forest inaugurated the event October 4.

The ITBP Bravo team won the Silver Medal and ITBP Alfa team won the Bronze Medal.

“All team members had worked hard to win the contest”, said Hardeep Kaur Captain of BSF team. She said that the river current of water here was good and players can build endurance here.

Radhakrishanan rafting guide of BSF team said that river water current was excellent for the professional and armature players. He said that beginners could learn better techniques as there was less turbulence in the river.

While congratulating the wining team Priti Jindal President of Ethics Commission of World Rafting Federation said that she was amazed with the number of women teams participated in the women event. This would prove a landmark for the promotion and participation of women in River Rafting in this region.

There were ten women teams that participated in the women event that included teams from BSF, ITBP and teams from Himachal and other states.

Shaukat Sikand President of National Rafting Foundation said he had never seen such a high participation of women teams in past 25 years in the rafting championships in the country. He said the NRF would love to organise more rafting events here in future.

The Ultimate Team

Ultimate Survival Women team was only team of women who had minimum practice time and still performed better than professional teams. Shilpa Devi Captain of the said that the team could practice for only for one day prior to the contest.  She said that it was a delayed decision for participation that team could get almost no time for practice. She said that still girls gave their best and team could gain its position in the final tally. Notably, the members of the included women from Mos Vivacious Miss Himachal Beauty Contest of 2020.

She said that all team members including Neelam, Runjan and Priyanka pressed every effort for the game. She said that team guide Malkit Singh trained and encouraged the team.