BJP Announced Eight Candidates In Haryana

Two seats yet undecided, May be declared in next two days


The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Saturday announced eight candidates out of ten Lok Sabha seats of Haryana.

The candidates for Hisar and Rohtak seats, were yet to be announced. As per the list Dharamvir Singh (BJP) from Bhiwani-Mahendragarh, in Kurukshetra, Nayab Singh Saini has replaced Raj Kumar Saini,

Ratan Lal Katariya was retained from Ambala, while Suneeta Duggal a former Indian Revenue Service (IRS) officer would contest from the Sirsa parliamentary constituency. Both reserved for the Scheduled Castes.

In Karnal, Sanjay Bhatia was replaced with sitting MP Ashwini Kumar. MP from Gurugram and Union Minster Rao Inderjit Singh was retained from the seat and his cabinet colleague Krishan Pal Gurjar wold contest from Faridabad. In Sonipat, sitting MP Ramesh Chander Kaushik was given ticket.

The Congress Party was yet to announce candidates for the first phase of polls on May 12.

Dushyant Chautala, elected in 2014 on an Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) ticket from Hisar had floated the Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) and would contest on this new platform.

Four sitting BJP MPs including Ashwini Kumar, Dharambir Singh, Rattan Lal Kataria, and Rao Inder Singh had allegedly spoken against the BJP leadership and the state Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar, but refrained to go against the party.

Significantly, the BJP had won seven of the ten Lok Sabha seats in the 2014 general elections.