BJP wins all 4 seats in Himachal Pradesh

Hamirpur:The BJP winning all four seats with record margins of about four lakh votes in each constituency, securing 69 per cent of the vote share in Lok Sabha elections in Himachal Pradesh.The winning candidates included sitting MPs Anurag Thakur (Hamirpur) ,Ram Swaroop Sharma (Mandi) MLAs Suresh Kashyap (Shimla) and Kishan Kapoor who bagged the Kangra seat.

1.Anurag Thakur

The three-term MP Anurag Thakur retained his Hamirpur seat, defeating his nearest rival Ram Lal Thakur of Congress with a record margin of 3,99,572 votes.Anurag Thakur, a former president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), polled 6.83 lakh votes against 2.83 lakh secured by his rival Ram Lal Thakur.The BJP vote share in Hamirpur is 69.04 per cent against the Congress’ 28.63 per cent.

2.Ram Swaroop Sharma

Ram Swaroop Sharma defeated Aashray Sharma, grandson of former Union Minister Sukh Ram, of the Congress by a margin of 4,05,459 votes in Mandi. In Mandi, the BJP polled 68.75 per cent against the Congress’ 25.68 percent.

3.Suresh Kashyap

BJP MLA Suresh Kashyap from Pachhad won the Shimla seat defeating Dhani Ram Shandil by a margin of 3,27,515 votes. While Kashyap polled 6,06,183 votes, Shandil managed to secure only 2,78,668.In Shimla, the BJP’s vote share is 66.35 per cent against the Congress’ 28.63 per cent.The other four candidates in Shimla lost their deposits.

4. Kishan Kapoor

BJP’s Dharamshala MLA Kishan Kapoor won the Kangra seat defeating Pawan Kajal of Congress by a margin of 4,77,623 votes. Kapoor polled 7,25,218 votes, while Kajal managed to get 2,47,595 votes. The vote share of the BJP in Kangra is 72.02 per cent against the Congress’ 24.59 per cent.

A total of 33,008 voters opted for NOTA (none of the above) 5,298 in Mandi, 8,026 in Hamirpur, 11,327 in Kangra and 8,357 in Shimla.

Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur congratulated Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party president Amit Shah for the massive mandate in the Lok Sabha elections.

CM said in a statement “It is for the first time in the history of the state that BJP candidates have won with such a huge margin in all the parliamentary seats”.He thanked voters for giving the BJP a lead for the first time in all 68 assembly segments in the state.