CM Announced six percent DA on 75th Independence day

Mandi: August 15

CM Jai Ram Thakur Addressing on the occasion of 75th Independence Day at Mandi

Chief Minister jai Ram Thakur announced six percent dearness allowance (DA) for the state government employees and pensioners from 1 July, 2021. On the occasion of 57th independence day here. He said that the his decision would provide financial benefits of Rs 450 crores to the employees and pensioners.

He also announced enhancement in subsidy being provided to the BPL and APL families on edible oils from existing Rs 10 per liter to Rs 30 per liter to the BPL card holders and from Rs 5 to Rs 10 per liter to the APL card holder for the next four months. This would benefit over 18.71 lakh card holders of the State. He also announced Rs 15 crore for Municipal Corporation Mandi to carry out its developmental works smoothly.

CM said that from last two years the world was fighting the Covid-19 pandemic and timely and effective steps taken by the Prime Minister proved life-saving for people of the country. He said that to deal with the adverse economic conditions, the Prime Minister announced an economic package providing direct financial assistance to the needy people and free vaccine facility to all the citizens. He said that despite the challenges of Covid-19, the State government has tried to bring the state’s economy back on track by reviving the basic amenities smoothly. He said that despite all its best efforts, the State lost over 3500 people due to the pandemic. he also thanked the Corona warriors for their selfless services provided by them during the pandemic. 

The Chief Minister paid rich tributes and homage to the freedom fighters, who laid down their lives for the sake of the nation’s pride and glory. He also extended rich tributes to the martyrs, who made supreme sacrifices for sovereignty of the nation. He said that it was a matter of pride that the country’s first Param Vir Chakra was bestowed on Major Somnath Sharma for his supreme sacrifice and thereafter, Colonel D.S. Thapa, Captain Vikram Batra and Rifleman Sanjay Kumar also received this highest honor for their unmatchable bravery. He said that apart from this, the brave soldiers of the state have been honored with two Ashok Chakras and 1096 gallantry awards for showing exemplary courage and valour. These bravery medals received by the soldiers of the state would continue to inspire the future generations.