Congress Fielded Ram Lal Thakur against BJP’s Anurag Thakur

Expected  Ram Lal to give tough time to BJP in the constituency

Hamirpur, April 06 (QNB)

After rigorous exercise for over ten days congress party had finally announced the name of Thakur Ram Lal a sitting MLA from Shri Naina Devi Constituency as it’s candidate for Hamirpur Parliament Constituency.¬† A senior congress leader had tried his luck for the parliament three times earlier but could not make it. Significantly, in 2004 general election he missed the win by only 1615 votes against his BJP rival candidate Suresh Chandel.

Meanwhile, this time the candidature of Ram Lal Thakur was taken as strong candidate by the party as against other aspirants including Mukesh Agnihotri, Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu, Dharmendar Singh Patial and Suresh Chandel who were learnt to have tried for congress ticket by leaving BJP folds.

Moreover, Anurag Thakur had won this seat for three times consecutively and he was fielded for the fourth time by BJP.